We Cannot Let “Nobody” Win

July 21, 2009

We Cannot Allow “Nobody” To Win in 2010

Non-Democrats have a very unique opportunity coming up in 2010. The Democrats, the would-be saviors of the last election cycle, have failed miserably and continue to do so. By making promises with no possibility of fulfillment, they are driving our country deeper and deeper in debt. Cook County, itself, has been riddled with corruption, pay-to-play politics and politicians hiring felons and relatives for extremely high salaries while the county budget is experiencing one of the worst deficits of its time.

We have all had more than our share of lip service the past several years. Words are nice to hear but actions are what’s needed now. From the smallest office to the largest, reform is needed. The Republican Party needs to form a united front. No office up for election can be unchallenged. This is not the time to be complacent. Even in Cook County, reform CAN happen, but only if it’s residents and candidates recognize their viability and choose to not allow any office up for election to go unopposed.

Now, do we want to simply yank people off the street, slap their name on a ballot, cross our fingers and hope for the best? Absolutely not. We would not take the driver of an ice cream and ask him to rebuild our car’s engine. What we need this time around is strength of conviction. We need a batch of candidates with solid morals, ethics and heart. Candidates who are aware of the problems their respective future offices contain and candidates who have some idea on where to begin correcting problems.

Look inside yourselves. Are you a do’er? Do have the desire to better your community? Do you have a fight in you to challenge the oppostion. If the answer is yes, look around you. Speak out, throw your name out there. We, as a party, will stand in support of a candidate who wants to fight for the moral right. No fancy catch phrases, just hard work, dedication and sweat.

Remember, if nobody runs, nobody wins. And we simply cannot let nobody win.